The Beauty of Row80

4 01 2012

By Julia Indigo/@juliaindigo

Today I discovered the beauty of Row80 – or perhaps just one of the beauties of it. I’ve been visiting my parents, and still recovering from my trip to Australia (I returned less than a week ago). Writing has not been at the top of my priority list… then I remembered that today is Weds, and the first Row80 check in day! O.M.G. LOL

While my Mom (a hale and hearty 81!) took a nap, I broke out the laptop and WROTE. Slowly – using the Dvorak keyboard as I promised. And in the process I realized that I definitely need to do more plotting away from the computer, so I went out and bought some colored note cards – I’m going to contact one of the world-famous Wordbitches, Elena Aitken of “Nothing Stays in Vegas” fame, and ask her how she storyboards. Actually, I think that she already wrote a post about that… so now I don’t need to ask her. Maybe I will anyway!

I blogged about my 2012 goals, and I’ve been on twitter off and on, being positive and helpful (helpful reminders from Kristen Lamb). So I’ve managed to stay on track for the first three days.

How are you doing with your Row80 goals… or your 2012 resolutions?

Actions

Information

13 responses

4 01 2012
sirkeystone

I should be doing #row80. I have the same kind of goals. I made no real resolutions though. I made plans that I would have three of my WIPs self pubbed by July 11th 2012 and more on the way. Of course there is more to the plans than that, but not that I would write in someone else’s blog comments! I do try to be brief some times, (yeah right)

Anyway, kudos on the planning! Kristen’s Blog is one of several that I follow as well. Glad the Dvorak is still working for you. I’m still scared to try…

5 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Dvorak is getting easier, though I’m still reverting to the usual at times every day… but when I do, I get confused! Very scary place to be in. But given how much I’ve used my hands over the years (and now some arthritis!), I think that it’s a good investment in my future.

You can start Row80 anytime, you know.And I’d love to read your writing plans, you knaw! Link?

4 01 2012
AmyBeth Inverness

So far so good! I love the auto-restart this gives me. November was great, then I fell off the wagon. This was a good time to begin again.

5 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Me too, but really, it was the holidays!

4 01 2012
Julie Glover

This accountability stuff really works, huh? I am a recovering pantser myself and learning how to plot better and better. I did the colored notecards too, then transferred that information into my writing software (Scrivener). It’s helping me get a better sense of story direction. Best wishes for a great round!!!

4 01 2012
Breezy Vee

I’ve done pretty good so far, but your right..it’s nice that life is allowed to get in the way! I spent a good hunk of time playing volleyball last night so today I had trouble moving…(don’t worry I put volleyball in my goals..haha productive!)

I love colored notes! Makes me distracted though…thanks for the tip about elena aitken, will look her up!
Good job on your goals!

5 01 2012
Julia Indigo

I’m already revising mine–adding 20 min/day of dog walking, weather permitting. Volleyball sounds scary to me, being a musician!

4 01 2012
Juli Hoffman

It sounds like you had a good start! 🙂 Keep up the good work.

5 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Juli!

5 01 2012
Karen McFarland

You’re not even home and you’re keeping up with your goals. That’s amazing! I on the other hand am not doing so well. I missed the post yesterday. Whoops! Well there’s always Sunday, or is it Monday. Because I posted my goals on Monday. I am such a blonde. lol I’ll get this yet. 🙂

5 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Blonde LOL.
I think that posting is Weds & Sat, but you should get the link email when it’s live.
I can be quite anal about some things, and this may be one of them. I like the whole accountability thing with row80. Brings out the competitor in me, even if it’s a competition with myself.

9 01 2012
Elena Aitken

Thanks for the shout out! Did you try the storyboard? I’ve just started using it and I love it! It’s fantastic to see the whole plot up there visually!
I use the save the cat technique. If you haven’t read that book. You must.

10 01 2012
Julia Indigo

I bought the notecards, but not the storyboard! I don’t have Save the Cat, gonna look right NOW to see if it’s available on Kindle.Thanks for the tip.

You rock, woman! 😀

Leave a Reply

