Jan 25: My last Row80 update this round

25 01 2012

Yesterday I spent a couple hours getting Scrivener up to date with my WIP (work in progress). I’m dying laughing at my four parts, tentatively titled:

Part I: What are these things? (Large, rather intelligent proto-birds, that’s what!)
Part II Things get complicated (Guess who’s coming to dinner – and bringing his temper along.)
Part III Things get completely fubar (Ooooh. You’re so pretty! Never mind you’re married to Anger Guy…)
Part IV Everybody DIES!! (self-explanatory)

I don’t know that Part IV will actually result in the death of the whole lot, but those two words send me into gales of laughter.

Scrivener is TEH AWESOME, as they say – and now even you PC-heads can use it, as it’s available for Windows. If there’s anything that can put a smile on my face today, it’s playing with my WIP in Scrivener.

When it comes to Row80, I am a complete failure. Perhaps it’s Seasonal Affective DisorderΒ or something – as I’m not capable of following through on these goals right now. It’s not me, per se, it’s the time of year. Considering that I wrote 50k words in 30 days just a few months ago, when I was every bit as busy as I am now, indicates that I have what it takes to do this.

But it just isn’t happening this time, and discretion is the better part of valor, so I’m calling it quits. Yes, I will continue writing, reading, blogging, walking, and playing with the dog. And I can definitely see myself attempting this again in the future! But right now? It’s a no go.

Have fun, y’all. Keep the faith! See you in April!

Actions

Information

10 responses

26 01 2012
Karen McFarland

Well bummer Julia! I’m sorry to hear this. But hey, we all need to chill from time to time.

If anyone can understand being fried I can. Life has been crazy lately with my husband’s surgery and other stresses. Jenny Hansen wrote a post today about how much she loves blogging and asked us what we thought about blogging. And quite frankly blogging does take time. It has taken time out of writing my WiP and that’s why I made the decision to pull back and only blog once a week and do one RoW80 check in. Checking in twice a week just doesn’t work for me. I can’t see results from just a couple of days. Have you ever thought about just checking in once a week. Others also only check in once a week. You could try that first before you completely quit. Just a thought. Try adjusting your goals Julia and posting once a week and then think about quiting. I think you’ll feel much happier doing that and then if it doesn’t work, stop the ROW for a while.

Just a suggestion. If you want to talk more about this, you know how to find me! πŸ™‚

26 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Karen.
Yes, that would be an option, and I did that for one week. But the way things are going (and there are some health issues in the mix), I think it’s best to just wave goodbye right now. And I’ve written over 2k words in the past couple of days, since the pressure is off me! Go figure.

I’d rather blog, but I need to decide on my URL before I do much more of this – if I go to another URL, from this free wordpress blog, I’ll lose my subscribers! Bummer. I’ll try to put the word out before that happens.

I’ve been reading this book: Dollars & Sense: McCray, Carolyn; Scott, Amber; Thompson, Rachel (2011-06-24). Dollars & Sense: The Definitive Guide to Self-publishing Success (Kindle Location 132). Unknown. Kindle Edition.

… and thinking that I need some more thought about branding etc, before I go full on with this. I’m in a bit of a quandary, because while I’m really enjoying writing my fantasy novel, I don’t know that I want to *only* write in that genre… and the book above is all about the genre being the brand (vs. Kristen Lamb: YOU are the brand). See what I mean?

Whatever. I’ll just keep playing, and yes, I know how to find you! πŸ˜€ Thanks, friend!

26 01 2012
Tia Bach

I didn’t see this post when I left my other comments. Wishing you success and looking forward to seeing you in April!

27 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Thank you, Tia! I’m sure I’ll be back.

27 01 2012
Morgan Dragonwillow

I have really enjoyed Tweeting with you this week and wish you weren’t calling it quits. If it is writer’s block I have some great tips if you are interested. About the branding, yes it is important but I also believe in not getting pigeon holed. I have lots of different genres that I like to write about. I don’t intend for anybody to tell me I can’t write whatever I want. As I always told my girls when they were growing up, “Anything is possible if you want it bad enough, are willing to work hard to get it, and never give up.” I too love to blog and now I actually have three going. The first one I share with my partner, the second is for my passion for working with shadow and the third I just set up for Row80. I have actually written more for my blog since I started wordmongering. I love it but of course I have only been doing this a week. I know you have to do what is right for you, just know you will be missed. *Hugs*

Peace,
Morgan

27 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Thank you, Morgan. I’m only calling it quits on row80 – not on any other activity. In fact, I’ve been writing more since I quit! Funny thing, Nanowrimo didn’t bother me, but perhaps, like Karen said, it’s the twice weekly check ins. That’s too frequent for me, particularly when my life goes crazy and I am struggling to keep my head above water.

I’d love to read your blog on working with shadow… url, pretty please?

27 01 2012
Robin Simonds Fitch

Hi, Julia,

I really feel where you’re coming from. Maybe it is the time of year, but I just can’t get going with this round, either. It took me two weeks to even get around to posting my goals! I think it’s interesting that you’ve actually written more since quitting. I also hear you on the pigeon-holing concerns. I grew up reading all sorts of different genres, and as a result, I want to write in all sorts of different genres, too. I’m keeping it in the back of my mind that worst case scenario I could always write under pseudonyms for the different genres, but I’m hoping I can find a way to do them all as “me.” Anyway, I think the important thing is to do what works for you, and if ROW80 isn’t working right now, then maybe quitting is the right thing to do. It should be a way to keep yourself going, not another burden weighing you down. Good luck!

Robin

29 01 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks for the comment, Robin.
I’ve had a lot of stuff going on this month, and last night I realized why Row80 didn’t work for me right now. Who knows, I might jump back in, in March for the last few weeks! I have a lot of thoughts on this today, and will likely elaborate in another blogpost.

As far as different genres… yes. We’ll see how that goes! But first, I need to finish what I’ve started. πŸ˜‰

6 04 2012
Row80, once again « Julia Indigo

[…] once again 6 04 2012 If there’s anything that I learned last time, it was that life was going to intervene, and I wouldn’t finish Round One. I discovered that […]

29 04 2012
A successful week: Row80 update « Julia Indigo

[…] is turning out to be a positive thing for me, this time around. Last time my health issues got the better of me, but that is more or less in the past, and I’m looking […]

Leave a Reply

