Catching up

14 02 2012

Life has happened, recently.

I haven’t written a word since the 5th, mostly because of health issues. I am shatteringly exhausted, but I have a good medical team, and things will sort themselves out soon enough. We’ve been working on this since early January – which is why I ditched Row80. It’s frustrating (to say the least) to not be able to do what I really want to do: write. I can’t even concentrate enough to participate on Facebook or Twitter.

The only thing I have energy for is work – and the only reason I have energy for that is the need to ‘put food on my family’, to quote President Bush. Thankfully, we have this week off, and I have a list as long as my arm of Very Important Tasks to do. This Virgo likes to strike things off lists… but that isn’t happening this week. I’m hoping to accomplish one thing per day – and sleeping might well be that one thing.

I’m sorry for the whinge, but I wanted you all to know that I haven’t fallen in a crevasse somewhere. I’m at home, propping my eyelids up.

Actions

Information

6 responses

14 02 2012
Matthew Wright

Sorry to hear you’re unwell – hope you’re feeling better soon, and getting back into writing!

Matthew

19 02 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Matthew. I have gotten back into writing. More on that later!

15 02 2012
Karen McFarland

I’m so sorry to hear Julia that you are unwell. Nothing worse than not being able to do something that you enjoy. It can be quite frustrating to say the least. I well know those frustrations. I have suffered from CFS for years. And though you may not look sick, it can cause extreme exhaustion. So I have sympathy for those who suffer from illness. Let me know if there is anything I can do. And thank you for letting us know what’s happened to you. Christine MacKenzie was sick for a few months with Mono or Glandular fever as it is called in the UK and was completely tired and could do nothing. We’ll still be here when you get back on your feet Julia. Let us know how you’re doing, okay? Take care! 🙂

19 02 2012
Julia Indigo

Hi Karen, thx for commenting. I’m sorry to hear of your diagnosis – CFS is a hard one. For a bit there I thought that was what I had, but I didn’t have the flu-like pre-exhaustion symptomology.

I think I’ve turned the corner, though the wheels of the health insurance industry grind exceedingly slowly. 😦

16 02 2012
Ali Dent

We all go through these kind of seasons. It’s hard when I’m there. Tough to accept what I have this day is exactly what I need. Sometimes I push against it and other times I rest in it. I feel your pain. It does pass one way or another and this gives me hope. I hope it does you some good too.

19 02 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks for the comment, Ali, for some reason you ended up in my spam filter!
Anyway, you are so so right. What I have today is exactly what I need today. I do remember that, though it’s hard when my tank is empty, and I have a list of things that I want to do that is as long as my arm.
And it *does* pass! You are so right. Last week I wrote more than I had in quite a while. That felt good, once I finally got to it. The busted radiator equaled enforced quiet, so I did what needed to get done.

Leave a Reply

