Early Row80 Check in

14 04 2012

Since I have this afternoon off, I thought I’d go ahead and write Sunday’s Row80 check in. The week has been a mixed bag, in large part due to a house guest, and finishing up my tax return.

Better life habits: Housekeeping: I was much better with the cabinet doors/lights/ and kitchen sink. However, I didn’t make up my bed the entire week. FAIL! I have to laugh at myself. I was getting up too late and rushing around at the last minute.

I didn’t walk much at all – and I’ll blame that on the weather and my schedule. And my house guest. I did limit my Facebook time – that was a success. iPhone games? Not so much.

Creativity: I did not spend any time with my HTTS course, or finish my plotting. I managed to write yesterday, and have been knitting every day during downtime. I didn’t practice every day, but I did think about it. Does that count?

Social Media: I didn’t write a blogpost, but I am managing the Row80 check in. I have been on twitter, and the get-together with local writer tweeps is scheduled for the 22nd.

While I didn’t manage to make these goals a reality this week, I’m not down on myself. Health-wise it was a difficult week. A couple of days I was dealing with heavy fatigue, when simply breathing seemed like work. I also had my friend visiting (she works with me), and some of my creative time was taken up by social time with her… a trade-off that I don’t regret at all.

The one thing that I feel bad about is not making up my bed! Julia! Just get up when the alarm goes off and do it!

I find that my word count takes a nosedive when I don’t take the time to exercise. It’s as though my Muse requires me to get into my body in order for her to speak. Taking a shower works, too, as long as I have the time for a leisurely shower. Holly Lisle talks a lot about getting/letting the Muse speak in her How To Think Sideways course, and I can’t wait until my life evens out more so I can get into the meat of that course. For now, it’s one day at a time.

Oh, and the IRS owes me money: THREE dollars. (applied to next year’s taxes, of course!)

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 04 2012
Karen McFarland

Hi Julia, I guess I don’t need to ask how you’re going, eh? lol. One think I’m learning is to not beat yourself up for not making your goals. So you don’t make your bed. So what? You had a guest, a friend visiting. Enjoy your visit. Life’s short, so don’t sweat the small things. Make your bed tomorrow! LOL! 🙂

14 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Actually, I’m just fine with my lack of progress on the bed-making front! At least I remembered that I hadn’t made it. 😀

Do I need to edit the post? Does it sound like I’m beating up on myself? Maybe I need to add a couple of smilicons. 😀

Right – there’s always next week. Hell, there’s tomorrow, and right now I’m going to get up and make my bed, so it’s made when I go to bed TONIGHT. LOL!

14 04 2012
Pam

I never make my bed. I’m sick so much that I need to be in it a lot and I am so short of up-and-around time that I think making and unmaking it is a waste of time. It used to bother me but I’ve learned to forgive myself for it and just take it off the priority list. Personally I’d rather see you write than make your bed!

15 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Good point! But it’s the same for me as walking into a clean kitchen in the morning – I love walking into my bedroom at night to a made up bed. Speaking of which – I’m going to go do that now!

15 04 2012
Jennifer M Eaton

I’ve heard thatr exercize does wonders for creativity. I should try it sometime. 🙂 I do get goos ideas during long walks, or rides in the car. Good luck!

20 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Hi Jennifer!
I don’t know what it is about exercise, but it helps me a lot. The dog likes it, too. 😀

16 04 2012
bridgetstraub

Three whole dollars! Wow! Personaly I think an unmade bed looks loved and lived in.

20 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Hi Bridget!
Yeah, if I’m getting back three dollars, it means that my withholding + quarterly payments were spot on! (though it would be nice to get a fat refund to spend on… myself!

re: unmade beds – to each his/her own. I like walking into my bedroom and having at least that part of the room in some kind of order. The rest of it: uff da.

Leave a Reply

