Quit Resisting the Muse!

27 04 2012

By Julia Indigo/@juliaindigo

 

The past several weeks have been, for all practical purposes, novel-writing free. As you might remember, I received a sleep apnea diagnosis a while back, and have now completed two months of treatment using a CPAP machine. I’m finally feeling mostly better, having more energy. If I wasn’t superstitious I’d say that I’m over the hump.

:::knocks on wood:::

Most weeks I’d barely managed 1,000 words, and that mostly blogposts, some weeks were a big, fat zero. Then on April 22nd I knocked out over 2,100. What happened? I stopped trying to tell my muse what’s what, that’s what!

I have been trying to hog-tie my (now 116,000+ word) novel into something that made three-act sense. I was looking for that opening scene, that inciting incident which would hook the reader into reading something that I hoped would be around 85,000 words. And it wasn’t working. I was blocked up, unable to move until I figured out where the heck to begin.

Then on Sunday morning, in the shower, my muse hit me over the head. (She has a way of jumping me when I least expect it).

“Just write the damned thing! Tell this man’s story! Damn the word count! We’ll figure it out later!”

Um, yeah. By the time I had dried my hair, I had the beginnings of three new scenes begging to be put on paper, and was ENTHUSED about writing again.

Today? I’m all WTH if it turns into a 210,000 word-trilogy. I’m unblocked, and writing better than ever.

And… I found a website with a novel-writing system that really appeals to me: the Snowflake System.

 

I’m going to take that out for a walk today, going through the steps for this particular novel, and fitting in the scenes that I’ve already written as I find them. Then I’m going to finish this novel, and self-publish it.

Actions

Information

18 responses

27 04 2012
sheilapierson

Another writer recently mentioned the Snowflake System to me – It may be time to seriously look into it 🙂 Great post!

27 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks for commenting, Sheila.
I discovered it yesterday, as I was surfing Scrivener reviews. I **love** Scrivener, but was intrigued by a comment someone left about liking Snowflake better. At $100, I guess you’d better! But the link I posted gives the 10 Steps of the system, and there’s no reason why you can’t do that in Scrivener, as well.

Nice when the universe colludes to give you a bonk on the side of the head! Yeah, go read about it. I’m excited. 😀

27 04 2012
sheilapierson

I purchased Scrivener recently, too, but haven’t figured it out yet…Didn’t realize Snowflake system was so costly…yikes! But still, the 10 steps seem like they would be helpful – thanks!

27 04 2012
Samantha Warren

Good for you! That’s what I do. I just write, then worry about cleaning it up later. Though, I’ve never had a problem with too many words. Lucky you! I look forward to reading your book when you get it self-published!

27 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Samantha. I guess I thought that I was close to finishing – or at least, trying to find a way to fit what I’d already written into a 3-act structure.
Next week I’ll be writing about the woman who marries Steven (My MC), even though she knows that he has ‘issues’. I hadn’t come close to understanding her or the dynamics of their relationship, and whooboy…. some people!! 😀

28 04 2012
broadsideblog

Muses are like that.

Mine is most often a-mused.

28 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Hi Caitlin, and thanks for the comment! HA!
I *love* your blog, btw – have been subscribed forever. I loved this newest post: .

28 04 2012
therunebug

Yes! This is so true. You can’t be creative when you’re trying to do everything the “right” way. I’m trying to remember to just write and not worry about how it comes out for the first draft. Then I can go back and clean it up later.

28 04 2012
Julia Indigo

I thought I was almost done with the first draft. Now that it’s coming out that it’s practically a trilogy, I’m off and running again.

28 04 2012
Karen McFarland

That’s fantastic Julia! I’ve heard great things about the snowflake method. Let the muse out and sing girl! I’m so happy for you! 🙂

28 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Yep, she’s singing. I can’t keep up. Gonna be writing all day tomorrow, with what came up today!

29 04 2012
A successful week: Row80 update « Julia Indigo

[…] I’m now officially unblocked! As I blogged two days ago, I had a major realization, and the ideas (if not the words) are flowing again. Yay! […]

29 04 2012
Raelyn Barclay

Love this 🙂 I’m too much of a pantser to use the Snowflake method despite liking the idea behind it. I’ll be interested to hear if it works for you.

29 04 2012
Julia Indigo

For now I’m too busy writing to try it out!
😮

30 04 2012
Matthew Wright

It’s amazing when ideas hit – and harder still to keep them in that original, pristine, inspirational form long enough to be actually written down! Good luck for your novel – hope all goes well.

30 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Pristine? LOL
Yeah, it’s probably going to take me the rest of teh week to get it all down, here’s hoping the muse cuts me some slack, because my schedule is ramping up starting today.

Oh, and thanks for the comment, as always. xox from S.TX!

30 04 2012
Ingrid Schaffenburg

I hear ya girl. Good for you for breaking through that block. Just write away!

30 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Ingrid!
I can’t believe it’s already noon, and I haven’t accomplished anything! (well, except for commenting on blogs. Oof)
Will be writing later today, though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

