A successful week: Row80 update

29 04 2012

I feel a sense of satisfaction, glancing over my list of Row80 goals. I’m happy with my progress in almost every area under Better Life Habits, so much so that I’m adding a couple of other goals.

While I haven’t been religious about walking every single day, I’m well on my way to establishing the following habits: turning off lights, making my bed, shutting cabinet doors, having a clean kitchen sink, so I’m adding the following: keeping the bathroom clean, and brushing the dog 1x/week. My canine is a miniature poodle, so brushing her is essential… and I’m a bad doggy mom. I let her go, and then it’s a huge chore when I get around to it… which is a task that I’m still putting off. TODAY, Ms. Blossom – I promise! I’m sick of the science experiment that is my bathroom, oy. Enough said, or perhaps too much.

Creatively, I’m now officially unblocked! As I blogged two days ago, I had a major realization, and the ideas (if not the words) are flowing again. Yay! Unfortunately, I haven’t been practicing, knitting, or starting on the mask-making project, because I’ve been rather out of control re: Facebook, Tiny Wings, and Stoneloops of Jurassica. And instead of finishing my scarf, I’m thinking of starting on a sweater. Or a weaving project. I must have creative ADD.

I posted a non-Row80 blogpost (linked above) this week, and have another planned for next week (yay), this is my Sunday check in. I’ve been on Twitter and reading blogs, and did the monthly get-together with local writer tweeps. Come to think of it, we need to schedule one for May.

Next week will be more of a challenge, because my houseguest will be back on Tuesday for 5 days. I hope I can have some boundaries with her, and get some stuff done while she’s here. I know she’ll understand – and she has a couple of projects to work on, too.

Row80 is turning out to be a positive thing for me, this time around. Last time my health issues got the better of me, but that is more or less in the past, and I’m looking forward to the next several months. Except for the temperature part. Summer is tough here in South Texas.

How are you doing, at the end of April? Have you made Row80 or New Years’ Goals that you’re struggling with? What are your success stories?

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 04 2012
Lara

Hi Julia! I know exactly what you mean about creative ADHD…I’ve got several projects (maybe three) involving needles of some sort that really have to be done.

I’m really a perfectionist, too, when it comes to needlework. If I don’t think it’s absolutely perfect, I pick it all out and start again. Sounds rather obsessive, huh?

I’ve gotten better about that regarding my writing, though. I don’t continually edit as I go along anymore. The one thing that got me over that was Nano. I literally didn’t have time to edit. Whew!

It’s nice to hear that your block is gone. Been there, too. And I know what you mean about housework. Blech.

Here’s to a good week for both of us!

29 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks for the comment, Lara. I think that, at 54, I’ve come a long way re: perfectionism. And yes, Nano did a good job curing the urge to edit as I went, too. Today is housework day… gotta get it all done before Tues! Funny thing, with my “ADD”, I find that I fret when I’m not doing what I’m ‘supposed’ to be doing… but then suddenly it’s like a dam will break and I’ll do all that stuff I’ve been fretting over, and easily, at that! Like today being housework day.

I’m a puzzle to myself most of the time…

29 04 2012
Lara

I’m also having a hard time with the walking thing. Definitely because I have pulled muscles in both my legs (see previous blog posting of mine), but I also don’t seem to have the desire to do it, either. And I need to.

29 04 2012
Julia Indigo

How did you do that?
Oh, I’ll go to your blog.
I think the first thing to do is to make sure that you have shoes that fit perfectly.

(I managed 34 minutes again today. Just over a 19-minute mile. The dog enjoyed it, too!)

29 04 2012
bridgetstraub

I too am having a hard time forcing myself out the door for my daily walk. What is up with that? Glad things are looking up for you.

29 04 2012
Julia Indigo

I do not know! And I enjoy the walks so much!
Perhaps its a weather thing? I don’t know, either.

29 04 2012
Lauralynn Elliott

Yay for the unblocking! 🙂

I think it’s great that you’re setting goals that are not necessarily writing related. Setting goals like that teach you discipline, and that carries over into your writing, too. I find when I’m undisciplined in other areas, I’m undisciplined in my writing. Good luck this week!

29 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Thank you for commenting, Lauralynn.
You’re absolutely right, of course. In my case, the clutter causes brain fog, and then nothing gets accomplished.

29 04 2012
Raelyn Barclay

So many hobbies, so little time, LOL, story of my life. Fabulous check in Julia. It sounds like you have a firm grasp on your goals. Wishing you a productive week ahead.

29 04 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Raelyn!
Yeah, I live for my creative hobbies (writing is one for now, at least).
But being productive is such a high!

Leave a Reply

