Row80 update May 6, 2012

6 05 2012

Cinco de Mayo is behind us, and a great and fun week at the symphony has been put to bed. More on that this next week.

Concerning my Row80 goals – once again, it’s a mixed bag. I had my frequent house guest, and between that fun and work, the beds didn’t get made! The one thing that I’m bitchin’ with is the walking – I walked every day, mostly 30+ minutes, even though the heat is ramping up here in South Texas. The bathroom is still a science experiment. I’m grateful that my guest didn’t mind!

Last Sunday I wrote over 1800 words… then didn’t write another the rest of the week. This is not okay with me… and will change this week! I spent a lot of time on Social Media on Sunday, and continue to read blogposts and comment. I feel good about that.

I was supposed to write a non-row80 blogpost last week. As you can see, I didn’t. However, I have 2 posts in mind for this week, and they will  be accomplished!

I have been practicing, mostly due to necessity. I have some big parts to play in the next two weeks, and would like my stress level to be as low as possible. Right now it’s off the charts. By the time we get to the concerts, all will be well.

I started a new knitting project – a mohair cardigan – and am almost finished with a very generously-sized gauge swatch. I have no idea if I’ve “gotten gauge”, but the fabric is so wonderfully light and airy that I don’t care if I end up knitting another gauge swatch, or two before actually getting to the sweater. The wool scarf that I started a while back is on the back burner for now. As I’ve mentioned before, I have creative ADHD. I have a gorgeous AVL weaving loom that I’ve been trying to sell for some time to no avail. However, the weaving bug may be biting again, so I guess it’s a good thing that I haven’t sold it yet!

I haven’t done anything toward learning mask-making, even with inspiration like this.

I still haven’t managed to schedule a meet up with any local writer tweeps for May – we’re all so busy!

Actions

Information

8 responses

6 05 2012
Lorinda J. Taylor

Julia, I must say, just reading about your schedule makes me so tired! But then you’re a lot younger than I am! Good luck on all your projects!

6 05 2012
Julia Indigo

Thanks, Lorinda, I need it!
Thirty-six hours in a day wouldn’t be enough these days. :\

6 05 2012
Eden

I love your mask-making inspiration. Those are inspiring me too.

I never knew that about knitting (something I’ve tried and failed at several times…though I do a mean crochet when I’m inspired). I always though the swatches my aunt made were just playing around. She does say she loves to just feel the yarn…

Sorry to hear the word count has been low. It’s been an odd week for a lot of ROWers. Things will get better.

8 05 2012
Julia Indigo

Eden, I love how the yarn feels in my fingers, too! And this most recent gauge swatch is heavenly light.
My life has been on hold, will be for a couple more days. I’m not stressing about it. I will be back at the keyboard again!

8 05 2012
Eden

I’m glad to know you’re at peace with the pause. What is, is… And that’s good. 😀

9 05 2012
Matthew Wright

I realise my comment was likely ambiguous in regard to sharing a great post – I meant your thoughts on the Cambrian, not my post you’d highlighted!

9 05 2012
Karen McFarland

Julia, you are doing fantastic girl! You’re cup is full and yet you are making strides with your writing and life. None of us can do it all. But I did notice that you’ve been doing more lately and pace yourself. Don’t burn out. Look whose saying this? LOL! I know, I have the same problem. Thus no ROW this time. I’ll be back later to take a look at your new post! 🙂

9 05 2012
Julia Indigo

Oh, thank you, Karen! I’ve been so depressed recently, it’s nice for me to be able to receive the compliment. 🙂 Yeah, I thought you weren’t rowing this time. Next time, eh?

Leave a Reply

