In which I Write: Row80 Update

20 05 2012

By Julia Indigo/@juliaindigo

 

What. A. Week. Work was absolutely insane this week. We had about 20% more services (that’s orchestra-speak for a rehearsal or a concert), and we’re not done yet – there is a concert this afternoon. At Saturday morning’s rehearsal I experienced something new: sore shoulders from so much playing. It’s not unusual for me to feel pain when playing, it’s a legacy of decades of work as a musician. But most often the pain is in my hands or arms. I suppose this is a good thing, since I’m using my hands so much more for writing… though I need to figure out what to do about getting the Dragon on one of my computers to save my hands.

I was under a tremendous amount of pressure at work on Tuesday, and on Wednesday my writing productivity took off like a rocket. Being a geek, I set up a spreadsheet to keep track of my daily/weekly word count and minutes of exercise back in the last week of January 2012. Given my various health issues, I had a huge slump in Feb/Mar/Apr, which I tried to not beat myself up about. My best week was the first one in which I was keeping records: I wrote 5934 words the last week of Jan, and I never came close to approaching that word count again. Then, last week: BOOM. 6611 words, between the WIP and blogging, and that during a very busy week!

Yesterday I took the day off, or rather, I had to take the day off. Between the morning rehearsal and evening concert I took a nap – because I woke up at 5 am and couldn’t go back to sleep for worrying. That’s really unusual for me, but I got my mojo back by evening. I now have big plans for June. More on that some other time.

As far as my other Row80 goals, it was a mixed bag. My Better Life Habits were both better and worse – I allowed myself to slack off with the kitchen just a bit, and the bathroom is still a science experiment, but I’m shutting off lights and closing cabinets, making the bed, and brushing the dog. I walked almost every day, and spent quality time with the dog.

 

Crafty stuff is off the map, somewhere in “Here Be Dragons” territory – IOW, no time or inclination to do anything with that. I haven’t been practicing that much, either, but with all the writing I’ve been doing I count the Creativity part of my goals as successful.

 

My Social Media goals are coming along really well. I’m closing in on 800 followers on Twitter, and have been #wordmongering with other writer tweeps several times. Not only that, but Ali and Sally and I managed to schedule a get together for tomorrow! We are all so busy that we thought that we might have to skip May, and I’m so glad that we found the time to meet! I also started a new blog series: Tuesday quotes, and have a couple of those in the pipeline, in addition to a third weekly TBD blogpost, and my Sunday Row80 check in.

On the personal side, my Mom and Dad did really well with their respective medical procedures last week. Dad had to have another two stents put in, and Mom’s cancer turned out to be Stage I, and the path report said that the margins were good, so all she needs is a bit of radiation therapy after her (second) lumpectomy. I’m so lucky to still have them!

One other thing: here is an interview with Barry Douglas, done by one or our classical music station’s announcers, John Clare. I thought you might like to hear what he had to say about our concert, our orchestra, and what he’s working on.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 05 2012
Raelyn Barclay

So glad things are looking good your parents. It’s hard watching them age. For the most part it sounds like you had a very productive week. Kudos. I hope you figure out what caused the shoulder pain and can do something to relieve it. Wish you a fabulous week!

20 05 2012
Julia Indigo

I’m lucky, in that my folks are in better shape than most people 20 years younger! We have some longevity in our families. Never the less, it is a scary thought, as an only child who is once again single, and childless. They’re all the family I’ve got!

re: shoulder pain. It must’ve been my posture, along with bargain-basement variety overuse. Ibuprofen is my friend.;)

20 05 2012
Gene Lempp

First, I’m glad to hear that things went well with your parents – always a relief, even when things are not ideal.

Second, awesome job on the word count. It is always a pleasure to surprise oneself with bonus production. Keep at it and you’ll watch even more come as you build stamina and focus. I’d say you are doing great overall. Best of luck for the coming week and the concerts, Julia 🙂

20 05 2012
Julia Indigo

Thank you, Gene! I forgot to mention that I won NaNo, so I’m capable of over 10k/week, but haven’t come anywhere near to approaching that word count since. Maybe I’ll try junowrimo, though I don’t think I have 50k in me right now.
Stamina! Focus! Yes!

Leave a Reply

